Cybersecurity & Data Privacy

The INVENSITY Center of Excellence Cybersecurity is the competence center for all questions concerning IT security of embedded systems.

Our goal is to reduce risk related to cybersecurity threats in a sustainable and traceable manner and to thereby help to develop innovative systems that are secure by design and comply to relevant norms, standards, and regulations.

Your contact

Jana Karina von Wedel
Principal Consultant

Get in touch

Offer

Security Norms, Standards, Regulations and Processes

Embedded systems are increasingly connected with each other and with the environment and implement ever higher levels of automation. This constantly increases the needs for Cybersecurity. To help meet those needs, several new norms, standards, and regulations for Cybersecurity have been created in recent years. Especially in the automotive industry, where UN regulations (R155, R156) mandatory for type approval and ISO/SAE 21434 were introduced. But also in other industries, were customers increasingly demand compliance to standards such as IEC 62443 or the ISO 27000 series.

Understanding which norms, standards, and regulations are relevant and what they mean for daily development activities can be challenging. We can help you to gain this understanding and taking into account your individual needs, requirements, and existing processes to extend your processes with Cybersecurity aspects to meet the requirements imposed on you efficiently and effectively.

Security Management

Successfully managing cybersecurity activities and integrating them into the overall development process requires both management skills as well as technical cybersecurity expertise. This is true not only for individual cybersecurity relevant development projects, but also for overarching management of topics like platform development of security mechanisms, vulnerability management, auditing of suppliers, training developers for work in security relevant projects, etc.

We can support the introduction of the role of Cybersecurity Manager within individual projects or whole organizations or by temporarily taking over this role ourselves in time critical or highly demanding projects.

TARA++

High-quality, reliable and process-oriented security assessments are an essential part of the development process of cyber-physical systems. The necessary Threat Analyses and Risk Assessments (TARAs) are very complex, time consuming and sometimes nerve-racking to perform, even for security experts. In this context, clarity, reusability as well as process and standard conformity are characteristics that lead to efficiency and quality improvements.

We support the creation of such high-quality TARAs not only with our expertise, but also by using ISAT 4.0, our specifically developed web-based INVENSITY Security Assessment Tool for the systematic and efficient execution of TARAs.  Not only the TARA itself is supported in this way, but also the following risk treatment decision and definition of security mechanisms.

Security Concepts

Once the risk treatment decision has been made, a Cybersecurity Concept defining concrete mechanisms to be implemented needs to be created. Not only the results of the TARA and existing stakeholder requirements, e.g. from an OEM, need to be taken into account, but also any system design decisions already made, performance requirements of the system and requirements coming from other disciplines, e.g. Functional Safety. This is necessary in order to really build security into the system (“security by design”), to prevent conflicts and to make use of possible synergies.

When several possible realizations of a security control are possible, the effort and cost for each possibility must be weighed against their respective impact on the overall residual risk. After defining the Cybersecurity Concept in this manner, Cybersecurity requirements must be derived and security aspects included in the architectural design.

We can support all these steps using our experience and knowledge from numerous security engineering projects to define a cost-effective, standard-conform, state-of-the-art Cybersecurity Concept.

Security Implementation

After defining the Cybersecurity Concept and deriving requirements and architectural design, the implementation of the Cybersecurity mechanisms is the next step. Implementing mechanisms like secure boot, secure flashing, or secure communication can be challenging when e.g. not much experience with these mechanisms is available within the development team or new hardware is used for the first time. Additionally to realizing the functionality, secure coding practices must be adhered to.

We can support the implementation and integration of security mechanisms as well as the creation of the necessary documentation by providing methodological support and guidance or by pairing up with your development team and providing hands-on implementation support.

Security Testing

Just like for any other functionality, requirements-based testing is a must for Cybersecurity mechanisms. But additional types of tests are needed to gain confidence that no critical unknown vulnerabilities remain in the system. Methods like fuzzing, vulnerability scanning and most famously penetration testing are applied for this purpose.

A common difficulty when defining and planning these tests is that there is no clear limit to the scope: Searching for something that shouldn’t be there can take an arbitrary amount of effort. Finding a balance between reducing the residual risk on the one hand and limiting the time, effort, and costs on the other hand is the challenge.

We can support you by systematically identifying the kind and scope of tests that will bring about this balance and by planning and managing the corresponding testing activities.

ISAT Pro

High-quality, reliable and process-oriented security assessments are a fundamental part of the development process of cyber-physical systems. At the same time, these necessary threat analyses and risk assessments are very complex and correspondingly time-consuming and nerve-racking for security experts to perform.

Clarity, reusability as well as process and standard conformity are characteristics that lead to efficiency and quality improvements in this context. With ISAT pro, the INVENSITY Security Assessment Tool, we consequently tie in with these requirements and facilitate the execution of your security analyses.

Learn more

Cybersecurity

Das INVENSITY Center of Excellence Cybersecurity ist das Kompetenzzentrum für alle Fragen zur IT-Sicherheit von eingebetteten Systemen. Unser Ziel ist es, Risiken im Zusammenhang mit Cybersecurity-Bedrohungen nachhaltig und nachvollziehbar zu reduzieren und damit zur Entwicklung innovativer Systeme beizutragen, die durch ihr Design sicher sind und den relevanten Normen, Standards und Vorschriften entsprechen.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Jana Karina von Wedel
Principal Consultant

Kontakt aufnehmen

Angebot

Security-Normen, -Standards, -Vorschriften und -Prozesse

Eingebettete Systeme sind zunehmend untereinander und mit der Umwelt vernetzt und realisieren einen immer höheren Automatisierungsgrad. Dadurch steigen die Anforderungen an die Cybersecurity ständig. Um diesen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, wurden in den letzten Jahren mehrere neue Normen, Standards und Vorschriften für Cybersecurity geschaffen. Insbesondere in der Automobilindustrie, wo die für die Typenzulassung verbindlichen UN-Vorschriften (R155, R156) und ISO/SAE 21434 eingeführt wurden. Aber auch in anderen Branchen, wo Kunden zunehmend die Einhaltung von Normen wie IEC 62443 oder der ISO 27000er Reihe fordern.

Zu verstehen, welche Normen, Standards und Vorschriften relevant sind und was sie für die tägliche Entwicklungsarbeit bedeuten, kann eine Herausforderung sein. Wir helfen Ihnen, dieses Verständnis zu erlangen und unter Berücksichtigung Ihrer individuellen Bedürfnisse, Anforderungen und bestehenden Prozesse Ihre Prozesse um Cybersecurity-Aspekte zu erweitern, um die an Sie gestellten Anforderungen effizient und effektiv zu erfüllen.

Security Management

Cybersecurity-Aktivitäten erfolgreich zu managen und in den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess zu integrieren, erfordert sowohl Managementfähigkeiten als auch technisches Cybersecurity-Know-how. Dies gilt nicht nur für einzelne cybersecurity-relevante Entwicklungsprojekte, sondern auch für das übergreifende Management von Themen wie Plattformentwicklung von Security-Mechanismen, Vulnerability Management, Auditierung von Lieferanten, Schulung von Entwicklern für die Arbeit in security-relevanten Projekten, und vieles mehr.

Wir können die Einführung der Rolle des Cybersecurity Managers innerhalb einzelner Projekte oder ganzer Organisationen unterstützen oder diese Rolle in zeitkritischen oder hoch anspruchsvollen Projekten temporär selbst übernehmen.

TARA++

Qualitativ hochwertige, belastbare und prozessorientierte Security Assessments sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Entwicklungsprozesses von cyber-physischen Systemen. Die dafür notwendigen Bedrohungsanalysen und Risikobewertungen (Threat Analyses and Risk Assessments = TARAs) sind selbst für Sicherheitsexperten sehr komplex, zeitaufwändig und manchmal nervenaufreibend durchzuführen. Übersichtlichkeit, Wiederverwendbarkeit sowie Prozess- und Standardkonformität sind in diesem Zusammenhang Merkmale, die zu Effizienz- und Qualitätssteigerungen führen.

Wir unterstützen die Erstellung solcher hochwertigen TARAs nicht nur mit unserer Expertise, sondern auch durch den Einsatz von ISAT 4.0, unserem speziell entwickelten webbasierten INVENSITY Security Assessment Tool zur systematischen und effizienten Durchführung von TARAs.  Nicht nur die TARA selbst wird auf diese Weise unterstützt, sondern auch die anschließende Entscheidung über die Risikobehandlung und die Definition von Sicherheitsmechanismen.

Security Concepts

Nachdem die Entscheidung zur Risikobehandlung getroffen wurde, muss ein Cybersecurity Concept erstellt werden, das konkrete Mechanismen definiert, die umgesetzt werden sollen. Dabei sind nicht nur die Ergebnisse der TARA und bestehende Stakeholder-Anforderungen, z. B. von einem OEM, zu berücksichtigen, sondern auch bereits getroffene Systemdesign-Entscheidungen, Leistungsanforderungen an das System und Anforderungen aus anderen Disziplinen, z. B. der Funktionalen Sicherheit. Dies ist notwendig, um Cybersecurity wirklich in das System hineinzuentwickeln („security by design“), Konflikte zu vermeiden und mögliche Synergien zu nutzen.

Wenn mehrere Realisierungen eines Security-Mechanismus möglich sind, müssen der Aufwand und die Kosten für jede Möglichkeit gegen ihre jeweilige Auswirkung auf das Gesamtrestrisiko abgewogen werden. Nachdem das Cybersecurity Concept auf diese Weise definiert wurde, müssen Cybersecurity-Anforderungen abgeleitet und Cybersecurity-Aspekte in die Architektur aufgenommen werden.

All diese Schritte können wir mit unserer Erfahrung und unserem Wissen aus zahlreichen Security-Engineering-Projekten unterstützen, um ein kostengünstiges, standardkonformes und dem Stand der Technik entsprechendes Cybersecurity Concept zu definieren.

Security Implementation

Nach der Definition des Cybersecurity Concepts und der Ableitung der Anforderungen und des Architekturdesigns, ist die Implementierung der Cybersecurity-Mechanismen der nächste Schritt. Die Implementierung von Mechanismen wie Secure Boot, Secure Flashing oder Secure Communication kann eine Herausforderung sein, wenn z. B. im Entwicklungsteam wenig Erfahrung mit diesen Mechanismen vorhanden ist oder neue Hardware zum ersten Mal eingesetzt wird. Zusätzlich zur Realisierung der Funktionalität müssen Secure Coding Guidelines eingehalten werden.

Wir können Sie bei der Implementierung und Integration von Cybersecurity-Mechanismen sowie bei der Erstellung der notwendigen Dokumentation unterstützen, indem wir methodische Unterstützung und Anleitung geben oder uns mit Ihrem Entwicklungsteam zusammentun und praktische Unterstützung bei der Implementierung leisten, zum Beispiel im Rahmen von Pair Programming.

Security Testing

Wie für jede andere Funktionalität auch, sind anforderungsbasierte Tests für Cybersecurity-Mechanismen ein Muss. Es sind jedoch zusätzliche Arten von Tests erforderlich, um die Gewissheit zu erlangen, dass keine kritischen unbekannten Schwachstellen im System verbleiben. Zu diesem Zweck werden Methoden wie Fuzzing, Vulnerability Scanning und vor allem Penetration Tests eingesetzt.

Eine häufige Schwierigkeit bei der Definition und Planung dieser Tests ist, dass es keine klare Grenze für den Umfang gibt: Die Suche nach etwas, das nicht da sein sollte, kann beliebig viel Aufwand bedeuten. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, eine Balance zu finden zwischen der Reduzierung des Restrisikos auf der einen Seite und der Begrenzung von Zeit, Aufwand und Kosten auf der anderen Seite.

Wir unterstützen Sie dabei, indem wir systematisch Art und Umfang der Tests identifizieren, die dieses Gleichgewicht herbeiführen, und die entsprechenden Testaktivitäten planen und steuern.

ISAT Pro

Qualitativ hochwertige, zuverlässige und prozessorientierte Security Assessments sind ein grundlegender Bestandteil des Entwicklungsprozesses von cyber-physischen Systemen. Gleichzeitig sind diese notwendigen Bedrohungsanalysen und Risikobewertungen sehr komplex und auch für Security Experten entsprechend aufwendig und nervenaufreibend in der Durchführung.

Übersichtlichkeit, Wiederverwendbarkeit sowie Prozess- und Normenkonformität sind Eigenschaften, die in diesem Zusammenhang zu Effizienz- und Qualitätssteigerungen führen. Folgerichtig knüpfen wir mit ISAT pro, dem INVENSITY Security Assessment Tool, an diese Anforderungen an und erleichtern Ihnen die Durchführung Ihrer Sicherheitsanalysen.

Erfahren Sie mehr